Skip To Main Content
Book cover for Shame Interrupted

Shame Interrupted

Written byEd Welch

Shame controls far too many of us, and the Bible addresses the issue of shame from start to finish. Shame Interrupted reminds readers that God cares for the shamed, and that through Jesus, they are covered, adopted, cleansed, and healed.

Shame Interrupted creates a safe place to deal with shame, shining a light on the dynamics of sin and how it is overcome through the power of Christ. By identifying with our shame on the cross, Jesus gives believers freedom from the paralyzing effects of sin and shame.

As someone who is familiar with the effects and crushing weight of shame—and the overwhelming freedom found in Christ—Welch invites readers to find confidence in the cleansing work of Christ in this raw and brutally honest book.

By examining the depths of the human heart, Welch has made accessible invaluable tools for counseling, soul care, and pastoral work. Shame Interrupted dwells on hope and healing, providing gospel answers to difficult questions.

Book Details

337 pages
Publisher: New Growth Press
Publication Year: 2012


Chapter 1 – The Quiet Killer
Shame Uncovered
Chapter 2 – Shame Exposed
Chapter 3 – Shame Through the Years
Chapter 4 – Shame and Disgust
Shame, before Christ
Chapter 5 – Naked Without Shame
Chapter 6 – Naked With Shame
Chapter 7 – The Outcast
Chapter 8 – Clean and Unclean, Holy and Common
Chapter 9 – When God Is Your Tailor
Chapter 10 – Touch and Cleansing
Chapter 11 – “Their Faces Shall Never Be Ashamed”
Shame, Honor, and Jesus
Chapter 12 – A Shameful Start
Chapter 13 – The Boundary Violator
Chapter 14 – When God Touches the Untouchables
Chapter 15 – A New Code of Honor
Chapter 16 – New Boundaries for a New Kingdom
Chapter 17 – Mark 14: Shame, Betrayal, and Abandonment
Chapter 18 – The Cross
Chapter 19 – “Come and Eat”
Chapter 20 – The Way of the Kingdom
Honor, after Jesus
Chapter 21 – Honored by God
Chapter 22 – “You Will Receive Power”
Chapter 23 – The Sacraments
Chapter 24 – Riches, Strength, and Beauty
Chapter 25 – The Apostle Paul on Shame
Chapter 26 – Despising Shame
Chapter 27 – “Don’t Be Ashamed”
Chapter 28 – Boasting
Chapter 29 – Brides and Banquets

Related Resources

Subscribe Now

Sign up for our weekly email to

  • get updates about new resources
  • receive new blogs, videos, and podcasts
  • stay informed on all CCEF news